2012 Pierres Hole 50mi / 100mi MTB Race NUE Series

https://www.grandtarghee.com – Pierre’s Hole, a mountain valley tucked up to the WY border on the western side of the Tetons, was once known as the strategic center for fur trade in the Northern Rockies. Today it is known as the strategic gathering place to ski unfathomable deep powder and ride some of the best unknown single track in the nation. On August 4th, 2012 Pierre’s Hole 100 will provide this pleasure to the fortunate souls that have entered this epic race (journey). The race course is situated under the Le Tres Tetons, or the three Tetons (Grand, Middle, and South Teton); with single track loops at Grand Targhee Resort, the descending (Mill Creek) and the ascending of Teton Canyon via drainage’s wrapped with single track. The views are breathtaking as you will be racing under these magnificent peaks, albeit you may not see much of them while your heart rate climbs you’ll reach your VO2 max while climbing out of Teton Canyon.


The fourth annual Pierre’s Hole 100, held at Grand Targhee in Alta, Wyoming, showcased the host resort’s trailbuilding acumen with a challenging race course that included 16,000 feet of vertical combined with amazing descents and jaw-dropping views of the Tetons and surrounding mountains.

Grand Targhee Resort is well known for its powdery conditions in the winter, but with the continued addition of singletrack and lift service, it is also becoming known for its mountain biking.

The wildflowers were in full bloom and waist high in many places along the singletrack. The weather was near perfect under blue skies, billowy clouds and mild temperatures. A gentle breeze on race day and local brews helped to keep racers and spectators cool throughout the day.

National Ultra Endurance (NUE) Series defending champion Amanda Carey (Kenda/Felt) made it five NUE wins this year and by doing so, is in an enviable position in her bid for a third straight NUE Series championship on her home course Saturday. Carey, who lives in nearby Victor, Idaho, set the pace for women, cruising in at 10:26:57 along a course that featured several more miles of additional singletrack making, the course close to 105 miles. At one point, Carey faced off with a local black bear on Mill Creek.

Just three women were able to complete the challenging course this year. In second place, Christy Olsen (Fatfish Racing) finished 12:06:10. Perhaps most impressive was Ellen Guthrie (Revolution/ Peak Fasteners), a 50+ racer, who, following her sixth place finish last year, completed the course to finish third on the podium in 14:15:07.

All racers who finish sub 10:15 were awarded the gold Pierre’s Hole Buckle and one local racer, who has sought the buckle for four years now, could not have been more pleased to make the cutoff. By a mere two minutes, Gabe Klamer (Fitzeralds Bicycles)finished eighth on the day as the final buckle recipient in the men’s division with a time of 10:12:11.

Singlespeed: Pfluginator back in top form
NUE defending champion, 43-year-old Gerry Pflug, (Salsa /Notubes/Top Gear) added brick and mortar to his series lead with just four races remaining, getting his first win since suffering a debilitating tick bite at Syllamo’s Revenge earlier this season. Pflug has three wins now, adding to his second and third place finishes on the comeback trail. Three of those races have been on back to back weekends. The Pfluginator finished 9:58:24, a half hour ahead of his nearest competitor and was the only singlespeeder the finished sub-10 hours.

Mike Shane finished third in 11:23:29 with Trevor Bain (Archidocederbonga) next in 11:56:14, and Richard Long (Cyclesmart Grassroots Team) after him in 12:54:01, rounding out fourth and fifth. Just five singlespeeders were able to finish.

Masters 50+: Hershberger wins a nail-biter
Rounding out the top six were Gary Gardiner, 50, (Bountiful Bicycle Racing) in 12:35:51, John Lauk, 56, (Bountiful Mazda Cycling Team) in 13:03:57, and Emil Gercke (Fat Fish Racing) in 13:07:18. Dave Bell, 56, (that’ll leave a mark) finished seventh following a fourth place finish last year.